586,470 active members*
3,236 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Can someone help with Mach3 settings?

Can someone help with Mach3 settings?

Ok I built the router. But I need some help with Mach3. I have to admit that I don't know what a lot of the settings mean. I'm running Mach3 with the Xylotex 3 axis setup. I have the videos to watch for Mach3 but I was wondering if someone had a quick start guide for my setup. It seems to be a very popular setup.

I know I'm cheating and trying to do things the easy way. But I'm a newbie to this. Hell until yesterday I though Vcarve wizard would run the motors. LOL! Can you tell I’ve only been paying attention to building the router and not the software end of it! Thanks in advance for the help! Rev.

You best source of MACH3 support is their yahoo group (MACH1MACH2CNC) although you may find most of the discussions pretty advanced since all lot of us have been using the software since it was Master5 in 2001. The problem with just sending you a "setup" is that most of the parameters are either table specific and are done by trial and error or they are user preferences like screens and such. Another really good source is their offical support site at www.MachSupport.com.

I can give you the basic pin settings for a Xylotex:

X Step = Pin 2
    X Dir = Pin 3
    Y Step = Pin 4
    Y Dir = Pin 5
    Z Step = Pin 6
    Z Dir = Pin 7

Beyond that it all depends on how you built your table. Motor tuning is one of those parameters that is different for every table.

Sometimes there is no shortcut for having to learn when technology is involved (:-)

We make a series of interface products for the Xylotex boards and our cards have basic MACH3 setups and screens but they are designed to match our cards.

Http://www.CandCNC.com