586,071 active members*
3,900 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Melting acrylic

I'm new to this forum and to CNC in general and wondering if anyone can give me some advice on machining acrylic. I'm using a dremel motor and carbide bits to mill designs into the sheets and then edge lighting the designs with LED's. I cut several designs succesfully, but then for some reason started having trouble with the plastic melting and forming a ball around the bit. The material hasn't changed, I've tried slowing the speed on the Dremel and changing the feed rate, but am still having the problem. I'm wondering if I'm using the wrong bit or the wrong material? I am a complete newbie and I'm going through a lot of bits trying to figure out how to do this. I would appreciate any advice anyone might have.

Quote Originally Posted by Townhill
    ......The material hasn't changed,.....
    When you say the material hasn't changed you mean you are still dealing with acrylic - but - did the problem start with a new sheet of acrylic?

You can get cast acrylic and extruded acrylic both in sheets, rods, tubes and both look very similar; they do not machine in the same manner. Many times extruded acrylic will behave just as you describe; melting and sticking to the tool.

It may help to use an upspiral bit, the slowest rotary speed you can use while still having the torque to swing the bit, slow feed rate and small depth of cut increments (most of these you have already tried I think). And, if you can do it without killing the dremel or electrocuting yourself a coolant like cool soapy water may help too. Not a huge amount of soap, just enough to slip things up a bit.
    If you cut it to small you can always nail another piece on the end, but if you cut it to big... then what the hell you gonna do?

Steven