586,667 active members*
3,419 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Suitable Threaded Bar

Hi there,

I'm new to cnc's and lookin at sourcing parts at the minute. Have managed to get some 20mm threaded bar. I would like to know if this would be suitable for screws. Also what sort of nots should I use along with these?

Heres some pics of the bar,

Cheers for your help.

Gmc
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails bar1.JPG   bar2.JPG  

I'm a newbie on this forum, but I'll take this one. Your threaded rod will make perfectly fine screws - for furniture, c clamps, repair work - wherever you need a screw. They are unsuitable for a screw drive for every reason there is - too many to list. Read the forums - there's a wealth of knowlege here. Look at Ball screws, for one-----

In my opinion it depends on what level of accuracy you wish to attain! You'd certainly be able to machine things with them (one guy on my travels made some nice pieces in wood with just threaded rod) I believe the majority use "Delrin" for the nuts failing that make up some form of antibacklash nut. Trapezoidal (spelling?) thread is fairly cheap on fleabay...Either way it'll work....maybe not too accurate and you can always spend tons of cash later eeking the last ounce of accuracy by buying ballscrews etc There's always a better way of doing things if you have huge pockets lol Have fun :beer:
    Keith

Keep in mind that the finer the pitch of the thread the more revolutions it takes to get the drive nut to travel a certain distance. Therefore to get the same linear travel speed you have to turn a fine pitch screw faster than a coarse pitch screw. Stepper motors develop their greatest torque at low speeds. It's best to think in terms of what you want the machine to do and then choose the components accordingly.

Chris

Quote Originally Posted by gmc6711
    Hi there,