586,106 active members*
2,984 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: First cuts

First cuts

I am a newbe benchtop machinist with a Seig II tuned and trammed great. I'm making light end cuts on 6016 1 1/2 X 1/2 with a 3/4 4 flute Tin coat from LMS trying to see how smooth I can get. I have modified with LMS belt drive and do OK at about 1/3 rpm. I get small vertical wavy pattern on surface. Am I way to slow? Do I lubricate? My goal is perfection. Do I set the belt to higher speed pulleys. Cuts are smooth to touch with some shine and are perfectly square. How would you do it on this machine.
    Thanks
    No priors (honest)

Arrow Milling

Quote Originally Posted by no priors
    I am a newbe benchtop machinist with a Seig II tuned and trammed great. I'm making light end cuts on 6016 1 1/2 X 1/2 with a 3/4 4 flute Tin coat from LMS trying to see how smooth I can get. I have modified with LMS belt drive and do OK at about 1/3 rpm. I get small vertical wavy pattern on surface. Am I way to slow? Do I lubricate? My goal is perfection. Do I set the belt to higher speed pulleys. Cuts are smooth to touch with some shine and are perfectly square. How would you do it on this machine.
    Thanks
    No priors (honest)
    First off, send some of that, "Shine XXX Over Here", and it better be like Grandpa used to make.