586,268 active members*
3,895 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Mentors & Apprentice Locator > Looking for mentor in Bay Area Peninsula

Looking for mentor in Bay Area Peninsula

Hi,
    I'm a sophomore high school student looking for a mentor in the Bay Area, specifically the Peninusla. I'm designing+building my own CNC Mill, and would love to get advice on it as I go through the process. Any level of help is appreciated--even just going through my current build plan would help me a ton and also teach me more. I would love to also get experience in a machine shop and working with machines, be they manual or CNC. I know this is a long shot given my age, etc. but I appreciate any help you can give to me. If you can't help me directly but can refer me to others, that would be a great help as well.

Thanks,
    Matthew

Re: Looking for mentor in Bay Area Peninsula

Why don't you share some information about your proposed machine here? I'm sure there are plenty of people who would be happy to give you advice about it, even if they can't come by in person. It's nice that you're interested in machinery at your age, but it's doubtful that any machine shop would be able to hire you at this point. You might think about getting involved with a local makerspace or a place like Techshop, which has a facility on the Peninsula: TechShop is America's 1st Nationwide Open-Access Public Workshop -- TechShop Menlo Park You can take classes there, or use their facilities to build your projects.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

Ok--you commented on one of my posts about the CNC Mill, but here's its description again and a few questions I have regarding it.

The frame is going to be a fixed gantry made out of 2x2 8020. Looking at using THB6064 drivers with nema 23 270 oz-in steppers. "Spindle" is a Bosch 1617evs 2.25 hp router with precisebits collets. Hope to cut aluminum, wood, plastic, etc. but not steel. Thoughts?