509,668 active members
3,908 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    55

    DC servo amps

    What brand dc brush servo amps work best with Camsoft software and Galil motion control boards? I believe that they should be used in torque mode.

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23196
    Hi, I have used A-M-C, Copley Controls, and Aerotech, you are right to use them in the torque mode, one thing to watch in the torque mode especially if the tach feedback is now no longer used is to make sure the amplifier is disabled on power up until the motion card is ready, and the same with power down, disable the amp before removing power to the Galil card. This prevents sudden servo motion under these conditions.
    The majority of current DC amps will work that have the +-10 analogue command. even in the tach feedback mode.
    Al
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Similar Threads

  1. Small servo systems and power supply
    By imserv in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 05:11 PM
  2. Using surplus servo motors as spindle drive
    By Swede in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-16-2008, 02:05 PM
  3. Servo Motor Running away.
    By murphy625 in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 02-27-2005, 08:08 PM
  4. buzzing servo
    By harvard5 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-18-2004, 01:42 AM
  5. steppers or servo drives
    By mmjpotter in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-30-2004, 09:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •