586,596 active members*
3,418 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

table top cnc

I wanted to introduce myself. I am a newbie to CNCZONE andto cnc / mill in general. I was always interested to build a DIY CNC, so I havebeen surfing the net for information. I would like to build a table top cnc about24” X 24” of cutting area. I am looking to cut aluminum plates. So I need all the help I can get.

Thanks in advance!!

Re: table top cnc

50chevy

Welcome to CNCZone, hope you enjoy your time here. I would suggest you do a 'lot of reading' of many of the threads here on CNCZone about DIY CNC machines. Understanding the variables involved in building a rigid CNC machine capable of effectively cutting harder materials takes some 'learning'. I think you will find many people here willing to help but there isn't an easy way of building this type machine (other than buying a kit) without spending some time understanding the various challenges facing you. Can it be done, absolutely, many have succeeded.

Good luck in your project, the first successful cut you make with a new machine can be very gratifying.....

You may find the numerous build threads very educational. Some are pretty much a step by step build of a particular design or kit. Along the way, problems may crop up which become a learning aid for the builder and the reader. They will also give you an indication of how much it will cost to get to the point of making that first cut. We have no idea what your budget is but a lot of people are surprised by the total cost (hardware/software/tools/learning curve time) so research will give you a much better background about what you are wanting to do.

Don

atwooddon, thank you for your post.

Quote Originally Posted by 50chevy View Post