586,110 active members*
3,409 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > General Off Topic Discussions > Working 1018 carbon steel, need advice

Working 1018 carbon steel, need advice

Im very new to working steel, iim used to milling polypro plastic on router table cnc machines.

boss just purchased a V4 haas, sweet machine, coolant flood chip evac etc... we bought a drill mill to drill out the center of some 4in round 1018 steel, now he want us to take .21in off the surface of the pieces. have purchased some multiple flute carbon tip (replaceable tips) end mills, but im new to this material, and what im having a hard time telling him is this machine is high speed milling, i cant grasp how fast this machine can run, until i see it myself... so, what i want to use a 1/2' 4-5 flute carbide tipped endmill to surface .21inches of the face of a round 4 in 1018 steel. if i go by the settings bobcad has pre-installed in its software, its going to take forever.... what speeds and feeds would you gents use/recomend? i get alot of ipm data from other sources and have yet to figure out how to convert ipm to sfm. thank you in advance.

Re: Working 1018 carbon steel, need advice

Assuming you are using inch dimensions for everything, then here are a few things to get you started:

RPM is (obviously) Revolutions per Minute.

Most tools will have a 'sweet spot' for speed; it is generally indicated in SFM ==>> Surface Feet per Minute. For carbide inserts, this number should be readily available from the tool manufacturer.
    This is good to know, because the SFM for a certain grade of tool will be the same regardless of diameter (generally speaking, that is!)
    So it is always good to know how to get from SFM and Diameter to RPM.
    This is the most accurate way: RPM = SFM / (Dia * Pi / 12)

Next, is the other half of your question... IPM (Inches Per Minute)