586,096 active members*
3,703 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Vgroove and angle iron router

Hello everyone,

I am very new to this cnc stuff but the bug has bitten and i want one. Just hope the missus doesn't kill me when we are struggling to pay next months mortgage (chair).

First of all can i take this opportunity to thank SPALM for his helpful feedback via PM. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15270

I am looking to build my first router and am thinking of using vgroove wheels for all three axis. I am thinking of using angle iron runners for the x and y and guide rail for the z. The z axis will have 4 wheels (2 each side). For the x and y i am thinking of using 3 wheels as per attached sketch. Could any of you wise folk out there tell me if this 3 wheel setup will work effectively.

Cheers,

Steve
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails wheel_config.jpg  

You should take a look at my thread in this area with my 4x8' router pics. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24582

I'm doing vgrove bearings. Only thing about a 3 wheeled design I could suggest is you should figure where the stagered 3rd wheel (on the bottom) should be in relation to the weight of Z wanting to twist the gantry... (ie you could not have the 3rd wheel directly under either of the other 2 although to far back or forward could cause one of the upper to jump. in my mind) Course weight of the gantry could keep that from happening anyway..

Check out my pics. Also have some ideas of how to hole the bearings and do the adjustments of them..

b.

Thanks b, I hear what you are saying about positioning the third wheel in just the right place. From an adjustment point of view the three wheel triangle seems to make sense but at the same time i can see that 3 wheels can cause too many variables. I will play safe and go for 4 wheels.

I like how you have used box section for your runners.

Steve