586,077 active members*
3,793 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How to profile

Hello Gentlemen!

I'm brand new to the CNC world and find myself without any knowledge of CAM softwares.

I feel silly asking such a simple question.. But how do I do tell BobCAD to profile this properly and leave just the circle in the middle? .Attachment 258792

I've been trying for awhile with no success so I figured I would just ask the professionals.

Thanks!
    James

Re: How to profile

Quote Originally Posted by Jamespvill View Post
    But how do I do tell BobCAD to profile this properly and leave just the circle in the middle?
    Hi James,
    Right click the "machine setup1" and choose "Mill 2 axis"....

From there, select the face that's at the bottom of the cylinder for geometry and choose ok. Click next twice.
    From there select "pocketing".. Your current operations will now be a pocket and a profile finish....

Compute that and run a simulation....

There will be other ways to do things, like just selecting the bottom edge of the cylinder for a profile operation, Making an open pocket, etc, etc.....

Start with that and come back with further questions,

BurrMan,

Thanks for the info! Unfortunately, I seem to need additional hand-holding. So this is what I'm going for....Attachment 258808

The best I can get so far....Attachment 258810

Although an appealing shape, not quite what I want...

I've got pocketing operations down pretty good, but this profiling continues to elude me...

James

Here's a quick video using Profile instead of Pocket, but as with everything in CAM there are many ways to do the same thing. Pocketing gives you some more advanced strategies, but I think takes a bit more knowledge to use. In the "Profile Rough" toolpath option, you can "Side Rough" to clear out most of the material and then follow it up with a finishing pass. Video is at the link:

https://files.secureserver.net/0smVA36E5CBj6j