586,115 active members*
3,348 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > Buying advice for CNC noob - CNC router

Buying advice for CNC noob - CNC router

Folks, I have been researching CNC routers but the choice and features are a bit bewildering to a complete noob like me.

my application will be creating replacement / custom guitar bodies from a variety of woods - probably the most difficult to machine will be Ash.

the wood will start off at around 50mm thick so I imagine that I will need something with some reasonable power.

Ive looked at Trend, Torchmate, PRT, Wadkin, AXYZ and Pacer.
    all offer good systems - if expensive.

What I dont want to do is lay out a wad of cash only to discover that I destroy one per month or something.

I have not looked at the self build route but - considering my application - mostly guitar bodies and necks with some thin ic and aluminium machining thrown in... does anyone have any suggestions.
    Im looking to make the purchase in May '07.

many thanks in advance.

You should definately look at building yourself, I am finishing my first machine (my excuse is to make timber fishing lures) with a cutting area of 550mm wide by 650 long and vertical travel of 120mm. Total cost so far is about AU $1000.00 which converts to about 2 pounds .... lol. That is all the steel, router, electronics, cable, thingamajigs, doovalackeys etc.

My machine will be capable of machining aluminium, though I probably wont use it for that very often.

The upside will be (apart from a fraction of the cost) that you will KNOW your machine, every nut, bolt ...