586,075 active members*
4,183 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Problems with breaking 1/16" cobalt drill bits drilling 1/2" deep (video link)
Page 1 of 2 12

Problems with breaking 1/16" cobalt drill bits drilling 1/2" deep (video link)

Hey guys, first post on cnczone for me. I recently got a Tormach PCNC1100 and it is my first CNC machine. I have been running manual lathes and mills for 4-5 years, but CNC is very different... in a good way! I have been working with CAD software since high school, so that part is already pretty natural to me. I have been using Sprutcam that I ordered with the mill and so far it seems pretty straight forward.

On to the problem... I am trying to drill quite a few 1/16" holes 1/2" deep. Speeds and feeds were determined with GWizard and peck depth was determined from reading a considerable number of threads with "working" formulas. I originally settled on 200% diameter as peck depth, but the bit broke on the 5th hole, this was a precision twist cobalt bit. I ordered a pack of 12 Irwin (China) cobalt bits from Amazon and decided to do a little stress test. Note: The first Irwin bit had considerable runout at 300rpm in the chuck so I removed it and the 2nd bit was much better. I am not sure what the procedure is to "indicate a drill bit" as I have read online, however, I am always happy to learn.

The test is as follows:

Material: 6061 Aluminum
    RPM: 5100 (GWizard)
    Feed rate: 2.947 (GWizard)

Row1: 50% diameter peck depth
    Row2: 100% diameter peck depth
    Row3: 150% diameter peck depth
    Row4: 200% diameter peck depth

Unfortunately, the bit didn't even make it past the first row, it broke on hole 6 out of 10.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtyRjIZ1F0U

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Re: Problems with breaking 1/16" cobalt drill bits drilling 1/2" deep (video link)