586,116 active members*
3,372 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Any clues on my LPT woes?

Been running Mach3 on my laptop via a buffered, not optoisolated, BOB.

Quite successfull, no problems.

Now as per prevailing opinion I have hooked up a desktop with on board LPT. 1.67 ghz 368 mb

Same version of Mach, same xml, same printer cable. Ports and Pins still correct.

But it is just not getting any signal from my homing and limit switches.

Doesn't matter if active low or high. Motors run fine on jog so its not port assignment issue.

Any clues???

I'm no expert and you're probably aware that some parallel ports are not bidirectional. Also, it may be that the port does support input but the BIOS settings are incorrect. My limited knowledge is based on "How to interface PC's" by RA Penfold, ISBN 0-85934-467-3.

N.

Thankyou Nickwass.

I was ignorant of the different LPT modes so did some googling and learned a bit

Laptop was ECP and desktop that worked was ECP too.

Tried all the options given in Bios and still no different. NORMAL, EPP, ECP- DMA3, EPP+ECP

Looks as if I have a sus mother board.

Bring on the ncPOD I say !!!!!!! :stickpoke

Assuming the LPT port is not DOA, did you investigate the signal voltage output levels?

Some LPT's work on low power (about 3.5vdc HIGH) and others are the more conventional digital signal (5vdc HIGH). A lo power output MAY drive a conventional device but not always.

This problem that you're encountering is another reason why laptops are not the preferred item to use with Mach - they don't always work and no two that do not work respond to the same fixes.

you might want to check the lpt port address is the same also, or that it matches what mach3 is talking to. its a long long shot but.