586,110 active members*
3,345 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Avid CNC > Linear rails smoothness, "sticky when carriage moved by hand"!

Linear rails smoothness, "sticky when carriage moved by hand"!

First of all let me state I'm a newbie on the cnc world, just in case it isn't obvious.

I just received some MGN12 linear rails I bought on aliexpress for a mini cnc project, like the one in this auction http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Promo...511040875.html.

I just tested them by hand and they are very "sticky" I can't imagine the nema17 motors I'll be using to be able to move them at all. This is the second time I have this kind of behavior, the first ones I bought for my wood router (SBR type linear rail) were also not smooth at all, for those the vendor sent me three new linear carriages that were better, but not "perfect".

Is this something normal, and how can I have rails that are smooth enough when moved by hand ?

Do I need to clean the linear bearing carriage and oil them again ?

I would imagine that those stay a lot of time in a warehouse where they could become sticky. Or a I'm just receiving bad parts ?

Thank you.

Re: Linear rails smoothness, "sticky when carriage moved by hand"!

Are they sticky before you bolt them down? If not then the problem is you are not aligning them properly. As for nema 17 motors for a cutting machine. Probably better to go with 23s now before you regret it later.

Ben

Yes before I bolt them, I just received them and tried to move the carriages around and they stick like hell. I read a little about it, it seems that it's the preservative oil/grease they put at factory, but I can't see a consensus on how to clean it and what to put back after that.

It's a very small router for pcb engraving, I was thinking nema23 would be a bit overkill.

Paulo.

Linear rails smoothness, "sticky when carriage moved by hand"!