586,636 active members*
3,042 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Manual milling?

I just got a CNC and playing with Mach3 trial. I don't have CAM software yet.
    In the meantime, I'm wondering if I can mill out something manually. Like jogging around, but able to manually input a travelling distance from a given point, then having the machine somehow execute to that specific point. Hmmmmm. Looks like I can set distances in "Machine Coord's", but...where's the "go to" button?! haha

Grateful for specific directions. I'm very new to this.

Just got a 4-axis 3040 from you know where, for 780. I make little money, so that was a biggie for me. All the 4-axis CAM software is expensive, like depressing expensive, so it will be some time before getting that. My brain is fried from looking for a free 4-axis prog. I give up. Will just wait it out... Just playing with Mach3, Sketchup and its CAM plugin now, haha, but...that's what's up here, anyway.

Thanks

Re: Manual milling?

You need to learn the basic G-codes and M-commands then write a simple program in Notepad and load it into Mach 3.
    Or, use the MDI window and enter appropriate commands one at a time manually.
    But I'd recommend not to try such things until you are relatively familiar with the Mach3 and machine control.
    Yep, requires reading and learning. Not like you plug a printer to the PC and start printing.

Reading and learning?! Wow, forget it then!

Communicating specific paths with Mach3 is only by way of g-code, then. OK, no probs, whatever. It would be nice, though, if one could simply enter actual numbers to designate coordinates to travel to, yeah?