586,100 active members*
2,977 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > First CNC Machine Spindle & VFD

First CNC Machine Spindle & VFD

I’m looking at buying a spindle & VFD for my first CNC machine that’s going to be housed in a residential garage. I'm a carpenter by trade and do make custom kitchens on occasion. But mostly using the CNC to make custom furniture as well for hobby work. The machine will not be used day to day and will sit idle most of the time. However I want to be prepared for anything that gets thrown at me in the future.

The spindle that I'm looking at
    5.5kw (7.5HP)
    380V
    12 amps
    400Hz
    8000-24000 rpm

High Quality 5.5kw Spindle Motor/Water Cooling Spindle For CNC Router-in Machine Tool Spindle from Industry & Business on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group

I only have 240V single phase. So from what I have read I’m going to need to buy a 3 phase input VFD and de-rate it 50%. Am I right at assuming I need to buy one that has 380V input @ 24amp minimum with 380V output to match the motor?

This will all connect to a 30 amp breaker with 10 gauge wire.

The VFD that I'm looking at is
    11Kw
    380V input
    380V output
    24Amps
    48-63 HZ input
    0-400 Hz output

Re: First CNC Machine Spindle & VFD

No, you can't run a 380V spindle from 220V single phase.
    What kind of machine is this? That's a lot of spindle, probably much more than you need.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Sorry I i put the wrong spindle information. Here is the correct one it's the same specs but on 3 phase 220v