586,545 active members*
3,125 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Belt Change Help

Hi All,

I couldn't decide whether to post this here or in the Path pilot section, I would like an answer mostly using Path pilot, but the basic question would apply to Mach 3 also.

I have always thought it would be useful to have something to cue you change the belt position during execution of a program. I know that when a belt change is needed, you are most likely stopped with a tool change M06 code, but some times I totally space changing the belt.

I was wondering if you could create a user defined M code for this? I have no experience creating M codes, but I do know it's possible. What I don't know, is if it's possible to create some kind of display to tell the operator what the M code is for?
    Maybe something like causing the spindle range LED for the desired range to Blink?

Terry

Re: Belt Change Help

My cam software allows me to insert prompts where ever I want and or AOs.
    I even insert multiple m1 commands to force me to read "prompts" do what they say like change fixture screws, flip part or find x,y,z and hit alt-r to continue.
    I do lots of multi side parts in one program and more or less just follow the on screen prompts and changing belt positions and speed settings would be another ao or auxiliary operation in one of those part programs.
    md

someone just needs to come up with an automatic belt position changer...
    should be simple...
    I just can think of anything/visualize it right now...
    but it should be simple (just because I said so really... I have no proof to back that statement up though...)

Belt change?
    I belIeve NYCNC said he has kept his belt on high range for the last five years and never changed it.
    I can't imagine changing the belt 6 times in one part run that has 15 tool changes

Quote Originally Posted by SomeWhatLost View Post
    someone just needs to come up with an automatic belt position changer...