586,102 active members*
2,613 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: 1rst CNC

1rst CNC

Hello everyone, my name is Andrew, I'm from Portugal, and I'm new to this world of CNC machines, so pardon me if I come up annoying you guys with all my questions, which I have a lot btw!
    So, I'm actually thinking of making my first cnc machine, and since I don't know anything about it, I was hoping that you could help me with it!
    Okay now, I think I might go for a 3 axis, 1meter x 1meter table, and that's pretty much what I can decide so far, since I don't know what type of motors I'll have to use, what type of board, bearings, drivers, etc...
    Once again, I'm sorry to bother you with this, I'm sure that you've all done and answered this endless times before, but I really am noob at this, and I really could use your help here!
    Thanks in advance,

Andrew S.

Re: 1rst CNC

- What material(s) will you be cutting?
    - What is you budget?
    - How much precision do you need?
    Current build: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/diy-cnc-router-table-machines/264838-new-machine-desing-quot-cnm13-quot.html

Before anything thanks for answering!
    I'll be cutting wood and plastics mainly... Can i keep it under 200 euros, without counting with the table frame? How much precise can it be?

Quote Originally Posted by Andrewsp View Post
    Before anything thanks for answering!
    I'll be cutting wood and plastics mainly... Can i keep it under 200 euros, without counting with the table frame? How much precise can it be?
    Your working area is very important when determining any projected cost, how big are your work requirements? Also what construction method are you targeting, a machine fabricated from aluminium extrusions versus wood construction commands a sizable increase in your building budget?

I think it would be difficult to build a machine for under 200 euros unless you have sources for used parts. What parts do you have available?