586,075 active members*
4,054 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Seeking feedback on component choices for a $5000, small-machining-envelope CNC mill

Question Seeking feedback on component choices for a $5000, small-machining-envelope CNC mill

Greetings,

I am an intern tasked with building a CNC mill that has the following characteristics:

- Small machining volume (approximately 3"x3"x3")
    - Need to machine aluminum at medium feed rates (about 50 IPM)
    - Small material removal rate (<1 in^3 /min)
    - A precision/repeatability of 0.001 is essential
    - Industrial, must be able to repeat a simple chamfer operation and milling operation quickly for up to 18 hours/day
    - Must be able to perform a chamfer operation on two faces, and a milling operation on one face, preferably simultaneously
    - I have access to industrial mills (and qualified machinists) to machine any required components
    - Budget: Up to $5,000

Design Summary: