586,608 active members*
3,610 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Fresh Meat! Could use some help.

First and foremost I'm not only new to this wonderful forum, but I'm new to the whole CNC game, so go easy on me.
    A year ago I purchased a 4' x 8' CNC Mogul kit, primarily for a part of my ski building endeavors, but also for some hobby carving. As well, I built a very big and sturdy table from 2x4's and 2x6's. Now, I finally have a basement I can set up shop in and get back on the horse! And with my luck the CNC Mogul page seems to be down... for months... so instead of bothering Mike now, I get to bother you guys! Be prepared, a lot of these questions will sound simple to yall, but I'm just learning. Here goes nothing.

-If my rails are 4x8 and the dimensions of my table top are 4x8, how do I mount the rails to the table? If necessary, I could sacrifice a few inches from the rails, it's not that crucial.
    -Vacuum tables. Do you NEED one? Do you clamp it to your table top? Mount the rails to it? Is one necessary for a beginner?
    -I was told to use NEMA24 Stepper motors. I have yet to find a router that will fit in the 3.5" router clamp my machine came with, so I'm not positive on how much weight these will be moving yet. (Open to good suggestions for routers, and starting bits.)
    -CNC Moguls are a very "Plug and play" setup, so I have to choose all my electrical components and build a control box. Stepper online has 3 axis kits that seem like they will have what I need. Anyone have good or bad opinions on these?
    3 Axis CNC Kits- StepperOnline
    (I don't know how to add links)
    -I run Solidworks for my CAD, but I'm brand new to CAM. It is to my understanding that Mach3 is the norm?

If any of yall have built a Mogul from scratch I would LOVE some guidance.

Any bit of info, tips, or comments is HUGELY appreciated!

Re: Fresh Meat! Could use some help.

Quote Originally Posted by Ski-N-C View Post