586,094 active members*
3,999 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cutting Tool Suggestions

Hello!

I have a Shopmaster Bridgemill and have also posted this inquiry on that forum. I am new to the world of metal working. By trade I am a ceramic designer and ceramic artist for 38 years, designing and manufacturing for the tabletop, giftware, and ceramic art industries. I have worked extensively with Ren Shape and plaster, as well as all ceramic materials.

I use Ashlar Vellum drawing and modeling software and would like to turn some aluminum parts for a new line of espresso service pieces used in conjunction with my ceramic pieces. The tool holder on my Bridgemill accepts many different sizes (it is a four sided device) and I have no idea of a basic set of cutting tools that I might need. I have been accumulating books but they really don't provide me with the information I need, just yet. I am at the beginning of a journey, so to speak, and while I understand about grinding tools from HSS steel and such, my thinking tells me at this point that some carbide tipped tools might be a good way to start. I need to do some boring and shaping of very simple shapes in aluminum.

I look forward to your sage advice. Thanks in advance!

Respectfully,

Jonathan in Denver

A four sided device? Do you mean a collet for square stock?

Well you need a boring head & carbide tools. And if you plan to machine the outside to some round shape and don't have access to a lathe.....you'll need a rotary table.

I have a 3 in 1 machine (http://www.shoptask.com/) called a Bridgemill. It is fine for my purposes and what I need to know is what would be a selecton of cutting tools that would get me started to turn some work. The machine is a combination lathe and mill. The tool holder can hole 4 tools of varying dimensions.

Thanks

Jonathan

I believe he is talking about a 4 sided quick index lathe toolpost :-).