586,036 active members*
3,565 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > BobCad Post Processors > Need Help understanding post processors and choosing which would work for my machine.

Question Need Help understanding post processors and choosing which would work for my machine.

Hi,

I'm a little confused by the post processor wizard on the site as there are numerous ones and what the difference is between
    OEM POSTS and the others

If I choose OEM POSTS there is only one option..
    version: BobCAD V26 OEM POST
    machine type: v26 OEM Mill_Router
    Controller Make: Mach_Mill
    Posts available: Mach3_OEM.exe

if I choose version: BobCAD V26 there are quite a number of different ones and i'm not sure what they all mean.
    For example Mach3-Mill-NoATC.exe is one choice.
    ...what does the NoATC stand for??

I am just a hobbyist user/newbie, just trying to get a proper understanding of what the different post processors mean and do.

I have Bobcad v26 4axis standard.
    Mach3
    GeckoG540

Eventually I would like to add a 4th axis once I get into it a bit more. I've just got my home machine up and running and am ready to intall Bobcad.

thanks,
    Jeff

Re: Need Help understanding post processors and choosing which would work for my mach

Jeff

The "No ATC" stands for "No Automatic Tool Changer", if your machine doesn`t have a tool changer then it will need slightly different code than if it did.