586,103 active members*
3,750 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > need help - understanding machine definition and setting it for my machine

Question need help - understanding machine definition and setting it for my machine

Hi,

just trying to get things set up for my machine, newbie here...

attached is an image of my machine and how i set my machine definition.
    I just set the min max limits to -1000/1000 for now.

in mach3 my soft limits are:
    x - 11.85
    y - 29.95
    z - -4.4
    - in machine coordinates, so in bobcad would i set it half way for each axis?? ex: X min/max of roughly -6/6 ??
    Attachment 283810

Re: need help - understanding machine definition and setting it for my machine

I would think ues, you would want to center your limits that way. If you set it at 0 -11+ then you would have to be sure toolpath never weńt into the negative quadrants and would also be continuously running your machine at the one limit (well, baring you not adjusting things away fro zero).... and only using half the axis as parts get big enough to go there... zero in center will give you the most flexibility...

right...i would assume 0 in the centre...i guess my point being why bother setting a min max limit if you need to be aware of the size of the part and placement on the table and how much travel you have anyway.
    That is why i set my min max to1000 since it seems to me to not really be necessary for my application, just need to be sure you have enough travel to cut the part.
    or would there be other benefits to setting my limits in bobcad?

It also aides in simulation.
    But yeah you can do as you just said.The machine should just alarm out if you over travel.

i see...okay. guess i'll just have to try posting something and see if runs the proper way for my machine....I don't have a 4th axis yet...so will deal with that when i get to it.