586,036 active members*
4,109 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Welding Brazing Soldering Sealing > Do they make a foot switch for mig welding?

Cool Do they make a foot switch for mig welding?

Im a self tought welder so I dont know alot about welding. Im looking for a way to switch my millermatic 251 gun on from a foot switch. The reason being I would like to set up a rotary table and have the gun in position and be able to just step back and let the machines do the work. I do a lot of circular welding. right now Im holding the gun in my hand, and though the gun is rested up against somthing it still wanders a little.
    I see these remote switches on millers website, what are these?
    or should I just rewire the gun?
    Thanks

In a previous life I was a welder & I never saw one (a foot switch for a MIG) but just cobble up some wires from the back of the euro connector in parallel that way you won't have to touch the torch.

Sounds like a on off toggle switch would suit that job best - but you'll have to watch for the end. Come back after a cup of rea and find a red hot donut otherwise ! :lol

Exactly

A switch is a switch.
    The trigger wires usually connect to 2 terminals at the point where the whip connects to the feeder.
    Put any sort of switch you want there, it is also very easy to power your turntable add an end limit switch and have this an automatic cycle by loading the part(s) and pushing a start button - when machine stops load new parts and go again.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

It's likely that the switches you saw on the Miller site were for the TIGs - variable, not simply on/off.

I am guessing you just want on/off of the Mig gun - or were you hoping to vary the wire speed with the pedal, too?

Here's a link from my collection of links - foot pedals - http://www.ssccontrols.com/

Scott
    Consistency is a good thing....unless you're consistently an idiot.