586,070 active members*
3,629 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > HELP PLEASE: 401 Z Servo Alarm on Spindle Start

HELP PLEASE: 401 Z Servo Alarm on Spindle Start

401 Z Servo Alarm on Spindle Start

Enshu Accu-Mill AM-1547
    Fanuc 6m Model B
    4 HP Spindle

10 HP American Rotary AD Series Phase Converter
    6 gauge wire from my breaker box to the phase converter at 55 feet. Then 10 gauge from the phase converter to the generator and 10 gauge to the CNC machine.
    The voltage going into the mill from the phase converter is:
    T1 + T2 = 239v
    T1 + T3 = 246v
    T2 + T3 = 245v

I will start by saying that I am very new at this. I have never run a CNC machine before but I have used manual mills a little. I recently purchased this machine. The owner passed away and his grandson inherited it. It had been in the same machine shop since 1984 and was mainly used to make carbon electrodes. According to the seller it had been working 8 months ago, and based on everything else he said about the machine I tend to believe him. The mill seems to have been well cared for. It is in excellent physical condition. The power stabilizing unit in the cabinet with the main PCB was replaced in 2001. The bubble memory was also upgraded twice, once form 16 kb to 64kb, and later a 512 kb RAM board was installed (I even have the old bubble memory cards).

Problem:
    I receive a 401 Z Servo Alarm when the spindle starts. I can turn the mill on and put it in jog mode. The X, Y, and Z axis move . But as soon as I turn on the spindle I get the alarm. I can turn the spindle off and back on, but I cannot move servos. The X, Y, and Z velocity boards go out of the Ready state, the green RDY LED turns off on all 3 boards. Also, the red LVAL LED is triggered on the Z-axis velocity board.

What I've Done to Correct the Problem: