586,035 active members*
3,910 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Toolpath oddities

Hi! I'm fairly new to the CNC routing world, but am learning and having a great time.

At the makerspace I belong to, we have a CNC router that's been giving me some trouble. I'm not sure where the problem lies, so I thought I'd start in this forum since it uses Linux CNC for machine control.

The most common issue is that sometimes the tool will slow way down and move rather jerkily. I've had this happen on exports from 3 different CAM programs. The simulation in Fusion 360, which I'm using now, shows it moving moderately and smoothly through those parts though.

The second issue is that, at least last time, the machine did not follow the toolpath that Fusion 360 simulated. It's like it skipped some parts or mixed a few sequences around. For example, in the simulation the tool ramped down, then stayed engaged with the stock while it cleared an entire area, but in real life it ramped down, cleared just a little, retracted, moved elsewhere in the area, ramped down, cleared just a little, then retracted, moved and ramped down again. Perhaps this is a bug in the G-Code export--I'm still going through the output--but I thought I'd mention it in case this sounds familiar.

Anyone have ideas about what the problem (especially the first one) might be or where to start troubleshooting?

Many thanks,

Conan.

Re: Toolpath oddities

Conan,