586,042 active members*
3,811 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > THK KR46 actuators with mystery American Precision steppers

THK KR46 actuators with mystery American Precision steppers

Hi all,
    I'm quite new to the whole CNC world (though not new to real-time software control of other things), but I'm in the process of converting an X2 mini-mill over. Along the way I came across a good deal on these two THK KR46 linear actuators with ballscrews at a local surplus house, and they came with stepper motors and working limit switches. I'm not really sure what to do with them yet, but it only makes sense to get some familiarity controlling and configuring them before I get in to the meat of the real project, so I'm going to test them out with my Geckos.

Thus, I have a few questions. I have made some fairly thorough attempts to search for these answers but haven't come up with anything yet.

1) The motors don't have voltage or current limits stamped on them. All they say is "MODEL MT232-06" from American Precision Industries, Inc, with what appears to be a manufacture date of 10/95. They have the standard 8-pin 0.100" header, and I've tested them with an ohmmeter; the windings are 1-5, 2-6, 3-7, and 4-8 and each one has approx 0.7ohms of resistance. They're standard Nema23 size, but without voltage or current limits I'm not really sure where to start.
    Here's a photo of the motor label: http://www.flickr.com/photos/80823736@N00/294997110/