586,103 active members*
3,382 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Exclamation G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    I know this is simple and I always have had issues with cutter comp. Don't know why my brain just can't wrap itself around the math or some little "thing" that makes it not work for me. This is a basic bit of my code that is not working. The area I am cutting is a 3mm deep rectangle with 5mm radius edges basic I tend to make things over conservative when I use and enter cutter comp. I am not usually sure of myself, ie the program I write wont slam into the edge and shatter a tool and spit debree at me. Currently my Haas control errors out on my first radius that I am using as a lead in so I can come up against the wall I do want to cut without digging into it and leaving a gouge.

    G00G90G54X1.0Y-1.25
    M3S3000
    M08
    G43Z1.H3
    G01Z-.118F20.
    G01G41Y-.85D3F10.
    G03Y.335R.2575F10.
    X13.750
    G02X13.947Y-.531R.197
    G01Y-2.185
    G02X13.75Y-2.382R.197
    G01X.246
    G02X.049Y-2.185R.197
    G01Y-.531
    G02X.246Y-.335R.197
    X13.750
    G02X13.947Y-.531R.197
    G01Y-2.185
    G02X13.75Y-2.382R.197
    G01X.246
    G02X.049Y-2.185R.197
    G01Y-.531
    G02X.246Y-.335R.197
    G01X2.0
    G02Y-.85R.257
    G01G40Y-1.25
    G00Z3.
    G00X.81Y-3.061
    G01Z-.5F10.
    G01X2.0
    G00Z2.M09
    M05
    G91G28Z0.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cast_Apprentice View Post
    G01G41Y-.85D3F10.
    G03Y.335R.2575F10.
    X13.75
    .
    If I am not mistaken, you are moving too far with this arc for the radius. Y-.85 to Y+.33 is more than radius .2575.You've reversed signs, I think. Then, the next move is a straight line move? You need to put a G01 on that X line, or the control will try to arc it.
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    32

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    exactly what fletch was saying. your first g3 was moving further than the radius you typed in and the second line had no g1 so it was trying to arc that line as well.

    I pasted code that I changed.. use at your own risk!!!



    G00G90G54X1.0Y-1.25
    M3S3000
    M08
    G43Z1.H3
    G01Z-.118F20.
    G01G41Y-.85D3F10.
    G03 Y-.335R.2575F10.
    G1 X13.750
    G02X13.947Y-.531R.197
    G01Y-2.185
    G02X13.75Y-2.382R.197
    G01X.246
    G02X.049Y-2.185R.197
    G01Y-.531
    G02X.246Y-.335R.197
    G1 X13.750
    G02X13.947Y-.531R.197
    G01Y-2.185
    G02X13.75Y-2.382R.197
    G01X.246
    G02X.049Y-2.185R.197
    G01Y-.531
    G02X.246Y-.335R.197
    G01X2.0
    G02Y-.85R.257
    G01G40Y-1.25
    G00Z3.
    G00X.81Y-3.061
    G01Z-.5F10.
    G01X2.0
    G00Z2.M09
    M05
    G91G28Z0.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Oh sure, do *all* the work for him!
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    32

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    I didn't do ALL the work... He still has to put the part in the machine, load the program, set the tools, push the button and watch the sparks fly! lol

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Thank you, that did the trick. Help is appreciated even if it was all the work for me lol. I have no mentor or anything to rely on a regular basis. I have one machinist who I can go ask questions of once in awhile. But not to the extent I need help with. FIgured online would be helpful a bit too in a pinch.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    I also double check with the graphical interface first. I learned my lesson painfully a few times by not testing that lol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    32

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    In the words of my idol Mr. Joe Dirt "Just keep on keepin' on". A little trick you can do is put your "D" value in your "safe" line which in your case is "G0G90G54X1.Y-1.25" so it would look like this G0G90G54X1.Y-1.25D3 so every time you call a G41 or 42 in your program it automatically reads the "D" value.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    yeah i keep seeing that format in alot of posts and when my bobcad spits out code to me. I try to make things as simple as possible, which is not always easy due to the nature of castings. fixturing of a casting is a royal pain in the butt

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    32

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Yeah I worked with quite a bit of cast a couple years back.. and where I'm at now we have parts made from cast with graphite plugs in them.. efffff that crap!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    I get to work with a router with no torque and a crappy spindle head that gets taper locked everytime i try to mill more then .05 deep. And a 33+ year old Le Blonde Makino which also has a high speed spindle with no torque. Trying to mill anything takes frackin forever because i can't cut any material per pass.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Just tell your boss you'll quit if he doesn't buy you a shiny new VMC! Bosses always love a prima donna!
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    32

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    I'm the only machinist at in this company and the only one who knows anything about cnc machining. both machines are brand new out of the box. I told the boss that they need to build a separate, climate controlled room to put on these machines in 6 months ago. He laughed.. but I did get a coffee pot... I'd say that's good enough ha!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Coffee pot? That's a win right there! That's probably my favorite perk here: free coffee! Keep me caffeinated and I'm happy. Or at least, less grouchy. Same thing.
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    32

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    I have two deionizing resin tanks for the wire edm the first one is the rougher and second the finisher for the water since the water here is.. well... bad... I have a garden hose hooked up to it to fill the tank of the edm and I use it to also fill the coffee pot up! I don't think they quite know how little I ACTUALLY get done in a day... whatever they haven't told me to pack my **** and I've been here almost a year now so I guess either they like me or they like the way I make coffee.. hmmmm

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    its kinda hard when your boss is your father. lol. Small shop with a tight budget for buying new cnc machines is a pain. Id love to find a few 5-10 year old vmc's and get those going, but I doubt that will happen

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    586

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Nevermind

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cast_Apprentice View Post
    its kinda hard when your boss is your father. lol. Small shop with a tight budget for buying new cnc machines is a pain. Id love to find a few 5-10 year old vmc's and get those going, but I doubt that will happen
    Yeah, that does make it tougher! If you tell your dad, "Buy me new machines or I'll quit!" he's probably even more likely to say, "Fine. Quit!"

    There's some decent machines out there that aren't too old. You just have to keep an eye out and make your case for how it is going to make more money! Having better equipment makes the work go faster, but you have to have enough work to justify it first, or be real sure you can get it.
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    16

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    do you know of any sites or resellers who have usual stock for mills around 10-60k? Maybe lathe too?

    and yah he would just say "ok, fine" if i tried to quit. lol

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: G41 with G03 arcs issue.

    Where are you located? You definitely want to deal local on used machines. Not necessarily because the seller will do much for you if there's a problem, but you can buy more machine the closer it is to home, because you save on the freight. Plus, it's always better to look at a used machine in person.

    That said, I have had pretty good luck buying and selling machines on Ebay.
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-10-2013, 03:02 PM
  2. Break Arcs Into Lines Issue
    By ArchieF in forum NCPlot G-Code editor / backplotter
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 05:47 PM
  3. Incremental arcs and Break arcs into lines
    By forhire in forum NCPlot G-Code editor / backplotter
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 04:55 PM
  4. Help with selector switch wiring issue (***actually a motor issue***)
    By BEDFORD in forum Charter Oak Automation Support Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 09:19 PM
  5. feed rate issue with arcs.
    By balsaman in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-26-2003, 02:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •