586,358 active members*
3,531 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Talking A 5-axis CNC machine including a rotary axis

Hello all,
    an introduction..

I have decided to post a build log on CNCzone so that others may see what I am typing about in the forums.
    There is a gallery under my name, synthetiklone, with some 10 pictures of the major equipment and parts I have so far. It looks like I can post another 10, & thats the limit. I will post progress reports with pics here if I can, and probably keep the gallery for major updates.

I am an electronics engineer from Wellington, New Zealand - land of the long white cloud, at the bottom of the planet, where all things CNC seem to be rare as hens teeth, or just as costly! eg, local SKF quote was NZ$3600 (US$6000+-) for 2x 200mm long rods with 4 pillow blocks and a 200mm long ball-screw!

This CNC project began with a 3D foam cutting machine, but as I have acquired parts and materials for building a more advanced machine, and after extensive information gathering on the net, especially here on the CNCzone, the CNC bug has bit me! The foam cutter is still going to happen, but most efforts are going towards the 5-axis beast.

The 5-axis machine is to be as mechanically robust as I can build. I happened to come across some good parts from a 2-ton large laser image scanning machine. It provided 40mm thick (!) solid gantry rails, and 40mm thick leadscrews. I couldn't even dream of obtaining buying/importing these for a good price here in NZ (see pictures). I would have liked to cover a 1200x2400 sheet, but again, here in NZ parts are price prohibitive for the home constructor.

So the design is a 1500mm X 1200mm X 700mm table/frame with 860mm X 700mm X 200mm toolspace/workspace.