584,830 active members*
5,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    130

    Digitizing with PathPilot

    I wanted to do some 3D surface digitizing using my Tormach 1100 and PathPilot. I used the "gridprobe.ngc" program posted elsewhere as the starting point. There is also a "smartprobe.ngc" program as well. In the comments its states that the results of the digitizing is stored in the same directory as the .ini file. Within PathPilot I could not figure out how to even find the resulting file. I didn't want or need to do anything outside of PathPilot for accessing the files, and since my controller is wirelessly networked, I can directly access the data for processing on my laptop on that network. I poked around for a while and found where I thought the main file screen in PathPilot is pointing. I inserted the path in the gridprobe program and the data showed up right where I wanted it, in the PathPilot file screens. It worked with great success.

    The path that points to the main PathPilot files screen is:

    //home/operator/gcode/

    I wanted the data stored in a folder named "Probe" so the PROBEOPEN command in the gridprobe file is:

    (PROBEOPEN //home/operator/gcode/Probe/probe-results.txt)

    I edit the program to change the file name "probe-results.txt" that stores the digitizing results as I run it so the data doesn't overwrite anything that was already done. This is a key thing to remember.

    I did some very minor processing of the data by importing into Microsoft Excel. I had a minor problem with the parsing of the data on import to Excel. It was due to a very small part of the data from the probing which resulted in positive Z values while all of the rest were negative. There are different ways to parse the data, but something to keep in mind to make it an automatic process and not need corrections or adjustments.

    I then exported the file as a .CSV file. I opened Alibre/Geomagic/?? and simply imported the x,y,z data in the .CSV file and had it automatically connect the points as splines. It worked great, and very quickly. The data went from the text file to a 3D sketch I could work with in Alibre.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    701

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    Thats amazing - can you post some pics?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    161

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    AWESOME!!!!!!! Thank you so much for figuring this out! Time to give it a try!

  4. #4

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    Quote Originally Posted by Tbkahuna View Post
    I wanted to do some 3D surface digitizing using my Tormach 1100 and PathPilot. I used the "gridprobe.ngc" program posted elsewhere as the starting point. There is also a "smartprobe.ngc" program as well. In the comments its states that the results of the digitizing is stored in the same directory as the .ini file. Within PathPilot I could not figure out how to even find the resulting file. I didn't want or need to do anything outside of PathPilot for accessing the files, and since my controller is wirelessly networked, I can directly access the data for processing on my laptop on that network. I poked around for a while and found where I thought the main file screen in PathPilot is pointing. I inserted the path in the gridprobe program and the data showed up right where I wanted it, in the PathPilot file screens. It worked with great success.

    The path that points to the main PathPilot files screen is:

    //home/operator/gcode/

    I wanted the data stored in a folder named "Probe" so the PROBEOPEN command in the gridprobe file is:

    (PROBEOPEN //home/operator/gcode/Probe/probe-results.txt)

    I edit the program to change the file name "probe-results.txt" that stores the digitizing results as I run it so the data doesn't overwrite anything that was already done. This is a key thing to remember.

    I did some very minor processing of the data by importing into Microsoft Excel. I had a minor problem with the parsing of the data on import to Excel. It was due to a very small part of the data from the probing which resulted in positive Z values while all of the rest were negative. There are different ways to parse the data, but something to keep in mind to make it an automatic process and not need corrections or adjustments.

    I then exported the file as a .CSV file. I opened Alibre/Geomagic/?? and simply imported the x,y,z data in the .CSV file and had it automatically connect the points as splines. It worked great, and very quickly. The data went from the text file to a 3D sketch I could work with in Alibre.
    How does one go about actually loading and running the program for gridprobe.ngc ? I can't find any documentation on it at all.

    Thanks
    Kyle

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    130

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    It is a gcode program that works with the probe. You just load the program and run it with the probe installed and hooked up. I don't remember seeing too much else about it. Just enough to get me pointed in the right direction.

  6. #6

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    Quote Originally Posted by Tbkahuna View Post
    It is a gcode program that works with the probe. You just load the program and run it with the probe installed and hooked up. I don't remember seeing too much else about it. Just enough to get me pointed in the right direction.
    is there a certain way or position to set the work off set? do you have to enter the overall size like had to be done in the Mach3 wizard?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    130

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    The wizard would create the gcode file based on input parameters. The probe program is already written so you just enter the parameter values directly in the program (see lines 11 to 21 below). It runs in the work offset the machine is currently using.

    The program just loops through using the start point, step size, and number of steps you want for each axis and stores the values for the probe location when the probe is triggered during the motion. See line 42 - it moves in the Z direction towards the value stored in #8, until the probe is triggered. It stores the value, the probe moves back up and to the next x,y location, and does it again until you have covered your grid setup in the parameters. I just made sure the Z height cleared the object I was digitizing so it didn't trigger during an x or y move. (that is for gathering Z data in a grid pattern at known X,Y locations)

    You can change the program to loop in a different sequence to get values from movement in other directions. I do Z movement the most, and have done X movement for digitizing a profile.


    ( Rectangular Probing )
    2 ( )
    3 ( This program repeatedly probes in a regular XY grid and writes the )
    4 ( probed location to the file 'probe-results.ngc' in the same directory )
    5 ( as the .ini file )
    6

    7 (Configuration section)
    8 G20 (Inches)
    9 F20 (probe speed)
    10

    11 #1=-1 (X start)
    12 #2=.04 (X increment)
    13 #3=51 (X count)
    14

    15 #4=-1
    16 #5=.04
    17 #6=51 (Y count)
    18

    19 #7=1.1 (Z safety)
    20 #8=-.1 (Z probe)
    21 (End configuration section)
    22

    23 (LOGOPEN,probe-results.ngc)
    24 #9=0 #10=0
    25 G0Z#7
    26 O1 while [#9 lt #6]
    27 #10=0
    28 G0 Y[#4+#5*#9]
    29 O2 while [#10 lt #3]
    30 O3 if [[#9/2] - fix[#9/2] eq 0]
    31 #11=[#1+#2*#10]
    32 O3 else
    33 #11=[#1+#2*[#3-#10-1]]
    34 O3 endif
    35 (#11 is X target)
    36 #5070=1
    37 O4 while [#5070 NE 0]
    38 G38.5 z#7
    39 G38.3 x#11
    40 O4 endwhile
    41

    42 G38.2Z#8
    43 (LOG,G1 X#5061 Y#5062 Z#5063)
    44 #10=[#10+1]
    45 O2 endwhile
    46 G0Z#7
    47 #9=[#9+1]
    48 O1 endwhile
    49

    50 (LOGCLOSE)
    51 G0Z#7
    52 G0X#1Y#4
    53 M2

  8. #8

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    thanks for your help! cant wait to try this out

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    711

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    If you have a lot of digitizing to do, give smartprobe a try, it is many times quicker than gridprobe.
    You can change the formatting to whatever you want by editing the LOG line in the gcode. line 43 in gridprobe.ngc
    The recorded Z will depend on where you touched off, so if you only want negative Z numbers, just touch off 0 above where the probe will trip.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1753

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    This site also has a smartprobe on steriods.. (I have not used it..)

    RETROFIT NORTE VS-2000

    http://www.vdwalle.com/Norte/Probe-on-Steroids.txt

    sam

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    51

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    I have tried the smartprobe file in pathpilot with the line (PROBEOPEN/home/operator/gcode/PROBE DATA/proberesults.txt). I get a zero byte file in PROBE DATA. And an error message that home/operator/gcode/PROBE DATA/proberesults.txt) is not a valid G code text file format.

    Woops I fixed it. Had to include PROBECLOSE at the end of the file. I works. Now to do something with this data

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    51

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    I have tried the smartprobe file in pathpilot with the line (PROBEOPEN/home/operator/gcode/PROBE DATA/proberesults.txt). I get a zero byte file in PROBE DATA. And an error message that home/operator/gcode/PROBE DATA/proberesults.txt) is not a valid G code text file format

    - - - Updated - - -

    I have discovered that I had to include a PROBECLOSE at the end of the file. Works now

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1788

    Re: Digitizing with PathPilot

    Where did you download smartprobe? The version at https://github.com/araisrobo/linuxcn...smartprobe.ngc includes a LOGCLOSE line

Similar Threads

  1. PathPilot and Dropbox
    By KSky in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 02-13-2017, 04:18 AM
  2. PathPilot Subroutines
    By Jerry McFarland in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2015, 05:35 AM
  3. PathPilot kernal for $10
    By johnh in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-02-2015, 05:12 PM
  4. PathPilot V1.6
    By adamboon in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-26-2015, 12:33 PM
  5. New PCI Card for Pathpilot
    By choppero in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-02-2015, 01:15 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •