586,042 active members*
3,777 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New small lathe... or not?

Hi

I was reading about small lathes for months and only now found this website
    I'm a musical instrument repairer. English is not my first language and I'm not an expert with lathes (i.e. the terms and names of the parts) so I hope you can bear with me...

I had a Sherline lathe (long bed model) for years and wanted to change mainly to get more space for parts and instruments. I changed to a Sieg SC3 (400mm between centers) a few weeks ago and I'm not completely happy with it... I worked for over 30 hours making the head, tail, carriage, slides, etc. as aligned and as accurate as I could. I even replaced the bearings with high quality angular contact bearings. I solved some other issues (e.g. chips getting into the carriage gears). After all of this I'm still not sure the lathe is good enough...

The short version is that I'm considering replacing the Sieg lathe.
    Some of the main problems I had so far were when parting, turning finish and the entire setup going whacky (I'll explain). I'm wodnering if any of that is a result of the lathe or me...

I was working on a 35mm diameter aluminium tube (pretty thick walls), making shaker (the musical instrument) as an experiment for the new lathe. It was sticking out about 12cm. I haven't worked on a large part like this on the Sherline but it was close sometimes and I did work on 45mm diameter plastic (obviously not the same but still...).

When turning, if I used power feed I got poor finish. Even for cuts approx 0.05mm (0.1mm off the diameter). If I used approx the same speed feed but manually I got significantly better finish, but not great. If I did a very small cut (let's say 0.025mm) with power feed, then if I reversed the turning and power feed directions, instead of a spring cut I got the entire to make noises and jam. This happened if the first (forward) cut was a spring cut.