586,106 active members*
3,002 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: power feed?

power feed?

Hi,

I've been searching the web and theres not much on this topic. I'm researching power feed designs and ideas. I have some questions, does the feeder take the radial load when working with lathe tools? Or is there some kind of automatic opening and closing lathe chuck? (i.e. open, feed abit, then close) . Do the feeds go both ways, i.e. in and out during part maching to allow for longer part manufacture? Are there any reference designs? I've not found much on the web but have seen so many people building there own CNC machines, just wondered if someone else has tackled this topic?

Thanks

Dan

Dan,

Are you talking about something like a bar feeder? Or are you talking about a "power feed" for the carriage?

Alan

Alan,

Sorry, I do mean bar feeder (NOT axis motor). Thanks,

Dan

Bar feeding

Dan,

I am not an expert on this, but my understanding is that an automatic bar feeder would use either a power chuck or a power collet closer to open and close allowing new stock to be inserted to touch some stop for registration.

The videos I have seen show stock being inserted, machining done, then parted off and the cycle repeated.

I really don't know about this, but I don't see any reason why a machine couldn't be fitted with more than one stop and the bar "stepped in" for processing. I too will await more knowledgeable answers.

Alan

There are a number of alternatives to a full blown bar feeder you might want to consider. If you've got a spindle liner and collet closer so you can manually insert a bar, you can have the machine advance that bar in a couple of ways.

First, you can do so semi-manually. Just have the machine position the tool as a "stop", and manually shove the bar forward until it contacts the stop before locking the collet again.