586,096 active members*
3,766 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

To build an archtop guitar...?

Hey fellows, I'm new to all this cnc stuff. My question would be can someone scan an already carved top that would save it as some kind of a file?

I don't know anything about drawing in cad(?). I downloaded a trail version of Rhino 3D and didn't know where to start.

So before I try to build a cnc(solslyva), exactly what are the steps needed. I would pay for someone to scan or digitize the guitar top.

Thanks
    Pookie

Pookie first thing you need to do is go watch some Rhino video tutorials. There are two sites I know of that offer them free for registering.

http://www.ob.com/ Robert Schultz is a super guy and has some of the best pricing for Rhino and related software.

http://www.rhino3d.tv/

This is the Miami office of McNeel.

Mike
    No greater love can a man have than this, that he give his life for a friend.

Quote Originally Posted by Dookychase View Post
    Hey fellows, I'm new to all this cnc stuff. My question would be can someone scan an already carved top that would save it as some kind of a file?

The more accurate the data you create toolpaths for a CNC from, the better the final part. Using scanners, probes, Coordinate Measuring Machines (CMMs), or other means to reverse engineer a product is time consuming. Don't get me wrong, lots of the nice guitars here were created from someone measuring and entering in the data in a CAD system, taking up lots of time as well. "Scanning" is similar, except that a scanner gives you a facsimile of the original. Tweaking the file into something usable usually involves some intermediate program to take all the dumb data that was scanned and turning it into something editable in a CAD program. Why not just take accurate measurements and enlist good drawing practices to make a model to begin with? Making an accurate 3D CAD model that you can revise is the best route.