586,075 active members*
3,761 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > Machine Created Art > Cutting wax models for jewerly

Smile Cutting wax models for jewerly

Has anyone created wax 3d models for jewerly. Can I make a machine to do this and what s/w is best for modeling.

Well....I would look at a Taig CNC with the fourth axis option.....if you want to start creating soon...otherwise you could look at building your own CNC mill and adding a 4th axis.

Have you looked at CNC Toolkit:
    http://www.rainnea.com/cnc_gallery.htm

I installed it with GMax3d over the weekend. Not done much with it yet. Still assebling my DIY CNC Router.
    Please check out my CNC blog
    http://cncinside.com

I have made Wax molds.... but never done any castings. I use a maxnc15 Ol mill with a home made 4th axis.
    Here is my photobucket site with pics of what I have done. Im still learning. Password is : zx9r
    http://s82.photobucket.com/albums/j2...ery%20Designs/

Software wise........ dude, how deep is your pocket?
    I am stumbling my way thru Artcam Jewelsmith. I bought it from a friend of mine at a fraction of the going price.

I am a jewelry model maker

I have a Taig with fourth axis for a few months and started with 3D contouring in wax. Pretty much in the experiment phase but here is an example of one of my first test pieces. Not jewelry per say but a good example of some 3D mill surfacing that can be done. I also included a pic of the mill.

As of late I have been using it to cut parts direct into white metal with 2.5 D pocketing and contouring but hope to soon get back to the surfacing.

Check out this wikki I found it useful when I was looking.
    http://www.tabletopmachinewiki.com/w...Jewelry_Primer