586,070 active members*
3,500 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tool offset issue

Hi I have a problem in PathPilot regarding tool offsets and need help!

I am new to Pathpilot and Tormach. After some time setting up my new Machine (770) I created my tool table to apply tool offsets as per below.

1. Lowered spindle nose to Z height setter to apply 0 offset to T0.
    2. Measured each tool on Z height setter and added each value into the tool table as per Tormach's instructions.

Set up before machining.

3. Fixed work piece to table.
    4. Called T50 (Haimer), pressed M6 G43 button and lowered on to job until it showed 0
    5. Zeroed Z DRO
    6. Removed T50 and replaced with required tool (T6)
    7. Typed T6, pressed M6 G43 to apply tool length ( in my case 76.97mm.) This value is
    displayed next to M6 G43 button.
    8. I lower Z axis so that T6 is 10mm above the work piece and the value in the work DRO is
    10mm which is what I would expect. All good so far so I thought.

9. As soon as I pressed Cycle Start to start machining the displayed tool length (next to M6
    G43 button) lights up red and shows 0.000 offset. The work Z DRO changes value and
    the cutter crashed in to job!

I have watched all the videos on this subject but am still at a loss.
    I am using Visualmill to create the G code with mach3 post processer. PathPilot does not like G40.1 or G50 so this was changed to G40 and G50 was deleted.

Any help will be appreciated.

John.

Re: Tool offset issue

John,
    Pathpilot has Linuxcnc in the background , their are many differences between Mach3 also , the posts are not the same , although both are close decendants of Fanuc compatability .

i feel you may have not cleared previous tool offsets first , amongst a few other possibilites , take a look on Linuxcnc.org for other tool offset problems , i'm on at the moment with modifying linuxcnc and also pathpilot , so i'll look a bit closer