586,113 active members*
3,209 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > I need to modify a nurbs spline surface MC9

I need to modify a nurbs spline surface MC9

I'm working with drawings with surfaces brought in from another business. I have a 3d model imported into mc9 that has holes and counter bores in the middle of a nurbs spline surface (airplane wing type shape). When I generate a program it treats the edges of these holes/c-bores as an edge of that particular pass instead of just continuing on across the hole in a smooth pass. I have several little volcanoes in the middle of the surface I'm trying to cut.
    How can I modify the surface in MC9 to eliminate these holes/c-bores so that my program passes are smooth across the entire path instead of broken at the edges of these holes?

I've been working with various versions of MC for almost 25 years but I don't have a lot of experience with full 3D in MC and almost none working with surfaces. Most of my 3D programming is just linear straight along a wire surface with no hills and valleys in the surface, no shapes.

Thx

JohnF

Re: I need to modify a nurbs spline surface MC9

Can you show us the model or a screenshot?

I am not familiar with MC specifically, but work with programs for various disciplines all day. If your original 3d model has a hole in the surface, the ( any ) CAM program should just be following what it is presented with.

Not knowing the details, I would suggest downloading a demo copy of Rhino, import your file and patch the holes using the patch command. use the continuity option offered within the command to retain the curves of the surrounding surfaces. You.You will get 25 saves with the demo version and Rhino can output to most formats.

Good luck with it, Phill Pittman
    index

I am stuck on X6 but I am sure what I am about to describe will work with X9.

Select CREATE SURFACE - FILL HOLES