586,036 active members*
3,490 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > B axis feed-rate when indexing - Need advise with post.
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    76

    B axis feed-rate when indexing - Need advise with post.

    Hi

    I am meddling with a post for an 4 axis Maho 800C, and have a little issue figuring out how to output an feed-rate for the rotary table.

    Code:

    # Tool change
    if prv_t$ <= mach, n$,"M5", e$
    n$, psg00, [ if prv_t$ > mach | t$ > mach, "Z100" ] , "M5", e$
    n$, t$, [ if t$ > mach, "M66", else, "M6" ], ss$*, e$
    n$, *b$, fr$,e$
    if coolant$ <> 0, n$, smcool,e$
    prv_x$ = xh$
    prv_y$ = yh$

    fr$ is the tool feed rate, so that is not a good way to do it,

    Generated code:
    %PM9000
    N9000 ( T )
    N10 G17 T1 M6
    N20 G52
    N30 B0. F300.
    N40 G81 Y35. Z59. F300. S3000 M3
    N50 G79 X0. Y103. Z35.
    N60 M5
    N70 G0 M5
    N80 T8 M6
    N90 B0. F120.
    N100 M8
    N110 G83 Y35. Z-35. K25.5 F120. S850 M3
    N120 G79 X0. Y103. Z35.
    N130 M5
    N140 G0 M5
    N150 T12 M6
    N160 B0. F40.
    N170 M8
    N180 G83 Y35. Z-35. K66. F40. S250 M3
    N190 G79 X0. Y103. Z35.
    N200 M5
    N210 G0 M5
    N220 T1 M6
    N230 B90. F300.
    N240 M8
    N250 G81 Y65. Z59. F300. S3000 M3
    N260 G79 X-13. Y130.988 Z65.
    N270 M5
    N280 G0 M5
    N290 T10 M6
    N300 B90. F100.
    N310 M8
    N320 G83 Y65. Z-34. K31.2 F100. S650 M3
    N330 G79 X-13. Y130.988 Z65.
    N340 M9
    N350 M5
    N360 T0 M6
    N370 G74 Y1
    N380 G74 X1
    N390 B0 F300
    N400 M30

    The two last drill cycles is on another plane:-) I got it working, sort of... still need the feedrate:-)

    any suggestions?

    I hobe to get the substitute axis working at some point also:-)

    The post is attached.

    Cheers, Daniel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    76

    Re: B axis feed-rate when indexing - Need advise with post.

    doh got another issue. when moving from top plane to my 90 degree plane, there are no B or F anywhere in the generated code. I have to take a look at that tomorrow!

    Edit:

    Nailed it!

    ptlchg0$ # Null tool change
    n$, "G74 z-1", e$
    n$, *b$, *fr$, e$
    if prv_coolant$ <> coolant$, n$, smcool,e$

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    76

    Re: B axis feed-rate when indexing - Need advise with post.

    It is all working now.

    The feedrate is not needed when indexing, it just runs at max.

    Got It working today, and did try to run a small program milling 3 sides on a part. but I have a problem when programming the backside of the part, it doesn't turn the B axis the 180 degrees. Could this be a bug in the post? or is me not doing it right in mastercam?

    Are the any good tutorials on the web regarding indexing on mills?

    I have an robot gripper part that I would like to try on the mill...

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    76

    Re: B axis feed-rate when indexing - Need advise with post.

    Hi there

    Im trying to mill an contour on a test part with G1, I have the post putting out X Y Z B and Feedrate. But I want an Radius also in the post, as the control can calculate the feedrate with a distance from the center of the part.

    Is there any way to copy the Z distance under a new name "R" ?

    I have tried with some math, result = nwadrs(srotr, z$) but it also changes the Z to R in the code, so it goes G1 X Y R B R F a R too many:-)

    Is there any educations online on the subject of making Mastercam Posts? I would like to take some education with this stuff!

    edit:

    By the way, I`m editing the 4 axis fanuc post to go with the machine, it is a lot easier than making the old one work for X5, still milling with the old post, but I want to mill with the B axis. I really dont care about how long it will tage to get the post running, but the wife and kid might at some point:-)

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. 4th axis feed rate question
    By bcer960 in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 06:17 AM
  2. Post processor 4th axis feed rate
    By csummers321 in forum BobCad Post Processors
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2014, 06:00 PM
  3. 4th Axis Feed Rate Problem
    By dkaustin in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 06:52 PM
  4. Fanuc-mill, Feed rate 4th axis???
    By TheDane in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 09:11 AM
  5. Z-axis feed rate
    By Richotech in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-03-2009, 03:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •