586,103 active members*
3,222 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Machinist Hangout > Debating getting into CNC work, have some questions.

Debating getting into CNC work, have some questions.

I'm a full time student and part time employee. I was trying to think of a hobby I could get into that I could enjoy and make some extra money.

One thing I've always been interested in was CNC work. My father was a self-employed CNC machinist who would make a wax mold of watches, cast them in gold, and sell them on eBay.

I thought to myself, "the start up cost is going to be high!" I searched eBay for a mini CNC machine and they are more reasonable then I thought. My budget $800 on the machine and $300 on CAM software.

To turn it into a business, once I get to where I know what I'm doing, my plan is to market various products (keychains, engraved thumb drives, simple jewelry) to musicians for their fans. I already have a presence in the music scene and know many artist (including myself) that would pay for this service if the cost was reasonable. Also provide services to the general public on eBay.

Is this reasonable or should I turn around? Also, how much time investment does it take the average person to learn CAM software? Should I take a class in college or just learn through the internet (youtube tutorials and such)?

Thank you!

Re: Debating getting into CNC work, have some questions.

It only take a sec to crash a machine the cheaper one on ebay have no protection against a simple mistake. There are some places you can have your ideas made for you so you can begin to see how they would go in sales. I been working in cadcam for about 10 years and still learning things every day. Sometimes the hard way. There are many online places to look to learn stuf. But $300 for cadcam wont get you much. You need a program like Mach3 to run the CNC too Plus a Computer just for the cnc and a better one to do your programing.