586,058 active members*
4,290 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Cheap tanks?

Cheap tanks?

Hi. Just wondering if I have wasted my moneyy on recent purchases. Was told by a university welding instructor that I had. I purchased some tanks at rummage sales this past summer. I got one medium-sized oxygen tank, one acetylene tank (sized for the oxygen tank), as well as two CO2 tanks from another sale (one full of CO2/argon mix). Not having lots of money, I must buy when I think they are cheap. Gave $1 each for the oxy/acet bottles, $1 for box of regulators/flow meters, $2 for smaller CO2 bottle and $3 for th other. Still looking to find a welder at a sale that I consider worth the price. Did I just waste my $8 or can I perhaps use them in the future? I'm new to welding, having taken 18 hour vo-tech course, but hope to keep on learning.

the regulators and similar will probably be ok, but the tanks are iffy..
    most tanks are company owned [rather than end user], and are rented on a contract basis..
    Use them until they are empty and return to authorized dealer...
    The ones I have seen are usually stamped on the neck with the company name...the few customer owned ones that I have seen are only about 2 feet tall,

enjoy..

Its my understanding that there is a capacity limit to what can legally be owned privately. The big tanks MUST be leased.

I own (privately) two 80cu.ft. argon tanks and a similar sized O/A setup because I was told I couldn't own the bigger tanks. Just as well anyway, my usage level is pretty low.

EDIT: And definitely have those tanks thoroughly checked and tested before filling them.

I had some tanks that I got when my dad passed away. They sat in his garage for YEARS (10-15 at least).

After he died, I took them to my house (in another state) and looked locally for an agent who'd refill them. I learned that ONLY the same agent who's tanks they were stamped (AIRCO I believe) would/could refill them.