586,035 active members*
3,712 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Puma 560 Robot

Hi all. I'm new to CNCzone so sorry if this has been covered before...

I have a Unimation Puma 560 robot arm. I don't have a working controller for it so I'd like to make a new one that can be controlled from a pc. I've been looking through the threads and it seems that a UHU controller with 'Robot Assist' from Kinematics.com may be a way forward.

Has anyone done this? Or something else?

The Puma has 6 axis, each with a 48V dc motor and incremental encoder.

Also, does anyone know the web address for UHU controllers?

Thanks

Jonathan (London UK)

I googled UHU controller and got http://gsst.wikispaces.com/ with links to plans, parts and complete controllers.

Smile

Thanks Keith - that's great.

Another couple of questions for you all...

The Puma has quadrature encoders that provide sine/cos differential (A+ and A- and B+ and B-) outputs. I understand the UHU needs a 5v square wave A and B for encoder i/p. Does anyone know a circuit to convert the differential analogue signals to nice logic ones?

Also, I've been looking at the Mech software. Does anyone know if this is suitable for an arm robot or just for milling machines?

Thanks

Jonathan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails puma.jpg.jpg  

I'm not sure of the vocabulary; sine, cos, square wave...

Some machines need quadrature and some only use the A,B and maybe an index (Z).

I'll bet 20p you only need to ignore the A-,B- connections. Can you post an image that shows the particular a portion of the schematics involved?

Find member "Al the Man" and ask him. He knows all that.

there are converter boxes from Heidenhain and others to convert the analog (sin/cos) quadrature encoder signals to square wave. They are often called interpolation circuits because there is more information in sin/cos than there is in a square wave. You might look at EMC, there was kinimatics for a Puma in there at one time.