586,102 active members*
2,664 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Just Starting Out and Need Help

Just Starting Out and Need Help

I'm just getting started in machining and I'll be taking a few classes at the local community college (I might as well since it's free). My brother and I wanted to get a small setup for use/practice at home. My brother is familiar with machining, but not CNC.

I'm not sure whether to get a dedicated mill and lathe or a 3-in-1. We're mainly concerned with the quality as we're going to be using it to create certain parts for interference fit.

I was looking for something I can convert to CNC later (kit or homebrew)

Two requirements we have are:
    1. The abillity to mill on steel approx 8in x 12in x 4in (I have a model of a specific shape that we would like to cut if it makes a difference on the max size)
    2. The ability to ream a 3 to 3.5 inch hole in the above piece for a press-in bearing.

Our budget is $2000...I guess I'd like something I won't outgrow.

Thanks.
    Ben

Ben,

Look at the Grizzly G0519 specifications below (basically a RF45 or clone thereof). The 12" on X-axis is no problem and the 4" on Z-axis is no problem but the Y-axis is only 7.5". I believe that on a CNC conversion you can actually gain a 1/2" to 1" on Y travel. Industrial Hobbies used to sell a machine that would meet your specs but it was about $2200 w/o shipping and he is not selling them any more.

To find a stock machine that has more than 8" of travel on the Y-axis you are probably looking at a Bridgeport or clone thereof. You might find a used Bridgeport for $2000 or less.

Specifications: (Grizzly G0519)

* Spindle taper: R-8
    * Spindle travel: 4-15/16"
    * Quill diameter: 2.95"
    * Table size: 9-1/2" x 32-1/4"
    * Table width end to end (tip of handwheel to tip of handwheel): 45-3/4"
    * Table travel (longitudinal): 21-5/8"
    * Table travel (cross): 7-1/2"