586,069 active members*
3,743 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Cnc newbie- needing input on ductile cast iron milling.

Cnc newbie- needing input on ductile cast iron milling.

hello everyone!

I'm fairly new to the cnc world ( right under a year) and I'm looking to speed my processes up, while prolonging tool life if possible. Production is priority, but I know I have to be burning inserts running at the rate I am now.

Keep in mind I am an operator, and I may not be using the correct terminology. I'm far from a machinist but I do try to research and make educated decisions. I have the leeway to change programs and run the machine how I feel is most productive, so any and all input is appreciated.

Now. For the real question.
    I'm currently using a mazak 650 ultra. I mill water main pipe flanges from 2"-20" in diameter, but my focus is on the larger fittings (12"-20" dia).. They are made out of ductile cast iron.

Currently I run a 6" sandvik milling head ( 14 inserts) and r365-1505zne-km k20w inserts ( I believe that's coated carbide, but again. Could be wrong) they specify fz as .011in and vc as 445sfm. This is extremely slow ( I believe it's around 3in/min feed rate) and from what I read, rated for .125" cuts. I need to take off closer to .100" ( sometimes less) but I'm not within a strict tolerance. I have the mazak programmed to take .04" cuts 2-3 times at 80in/min and 656sfm.

Is is there any chance someone could divulge some information that might help? I've read smaller fast cuts work better by taking the hard layer off seperate from the soft metal, and I've heard digging deep on the first pass to cut soft and hard at the same time will save on tool life.

*edit for clarity*.
    Finish doesn't matter. I'm looking for the quickest/most efficient rough cut possible.

Any experience? All input is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Re: Cnc newbie- needing input on ductile cast iron milling.