587,033 active members*
3,405 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Basic Questions

Hello,

I am studying this product using the evaluation download, and I have a few basic questions about concepts that are escaping me.

I like the whole approach of entering stock and then doing operations on it. But what exact sequence of steps should I go through to put rough stock in and square it up? Every thing I've tried results in either no toolpath being generated, or some other unexpected result.

I tried creating a wireform by drawing a closed curve and then extruding it. Then, I couldn't figure out how to use one tool on one surface (flat end mill on the top), and a different tool on a different surface (ball end for a contour on the top). Does each surface have to be created as a separate entity?

And once something is modeled like that, how does it relate to the stock you've created? Does the stock have to be modeled larger than the model in order to machine the top of it?

Does the horsepower have to be entered at each operation, or is there some place in the machine setup where a default could be entered? Some of the toolpaths that get generated for aluminum by default would probably stall my machine! Where can I tone this down to make it generate light cuts by default? I've looked, and can't find it.

I really like the ease of use I see possible with this software, but before I put up the money, I'd like to be able connect the concepts of how the modeling relates to the stock, and how to do basic operations like planing off the top of a piece of stock.

I'm hoping maybe someone who uses the software on a regular basis can give me some tips on the simple stuff.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give,

--97T--

Start with something simple.
    1. Stock size