586,111 active members*
3,192 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need some Guidance !

Hello everyone!

First off, I"m not an engineer, however I do sometimes wish that was my major instead of photography, though I love art, so I'm torn! this new build will be the ultimate marriage for me in combining the two major interests in my life a balance if you will, one aiding the other!

I'm looking to build a CNC in the next couple of months (router and Plasma)Both for personal work as well as some side business to help pay for the Art I'd like to create with it! Currently I'm hung up on motors to drive each Axis.. Originally I began with the idea of steppers, then decided for their advantages such as high continuous torque while maintaining higher IPM and of course the closed loop system to switch to servo motors. I'm no engineer, but thought this would be the best place to ask questions!

I've added these to my BOM ( Motiontek | AC Servo Motor Driver | CNC KIT Router Mill Plasma Canada USA ) Have spoken them on the phone for a quote of 4 motors and seems to be a good size and option for my machine with a 10:1 or 5:1 Gearbox. After finding these, as per norm, I kept shopping and came across these ( http://www.automationtechnologiesinc...motor-750w-set ) /Polish according to rep from Automation technologies./

And finally for servo's I found the Deltas again at Automation ( http://www.automationtechnologiesinc...-and-driver-1k )

These are the three I've narrowed down to.. if anyone has suggestions, feel free

anyone have suggestion for a smooth stepper for Servo? I thought I knew I wanted the PMDX 424 for sure, but that was with using Stepper motors. I'm still learning about AC Servo's and perhaps I need a specialized Board?

My machine will be 11' x 5' working area.
    Steel build
    Rack and pinion for X and Y
    Ballscrew for Z
    2.2kw Spindle
    Hypertherm powermax 65 Plasma
    Water table.