586,508 active members*
3,394 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > New FREE Feeds & Speeds Calculator

Cool New FREE Feeds & Speeds Calculator

Hello,

After years of using calculators with odd restrictions and sometimes confusing behavior, I decided to just write my own. It ain't pretty, but I've been using it for the last 6 months with no major issues. I'm sure a wider audience will quickly find some issues that need fixing (tested on WebKit, Safari, and Firefox).

Optimizing Feeds and Speeds Calculator for Milling

It's free, open-source, and you can download it to use offline -- I wrote it as all one page so it will work without an internet connection. I use the "offline reader" feature of my iPhone to keep a copy at-the-ready no matter where I am.

You can save cut parameters by simply bookmarking the generated link (next to the calculate button). This allows you to quickly build up your cut database, and by exporting the URLs to text you can exchange links with others, and use offline editors to modify or batch-update a set of cuts.

It has the usual features including chip thinning for radial and axial depths (for optimizing ballnose cutters). The materials list is quite thin, I have a much more complete table in my version but it is basically lifted straight from Machinery's Handbook and I don't have the rights to redistribute it. I'm happy to add additional entries if the sources provided are public. I have only used the Aluminum settings! The values for other materials were taken from published literature buy YMMV.

The main reason I wrote this calculator is for the graphs at the bottom; they display a variety of cut parameters and give you a sense of what kinds of cuts are available and their tradeoffs. No one cut is the 'right' one, and fighting with existing calculators to give me these options has been aggravating.