586,584 active members*
2,628 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    How to connect external board to kflop?

    Hi!
    Try to connect external board with opto-isolated inputs to kflop. It will be board for limit switches. I was connect it to JP4. No I need to determine what pins in kflop meet screw terminals. By default pins i/o in JP4 is output pins.
    I was added this code in initialization c-file:
    SetBitDirection(16,0);
    SetBitDirection(17,0);
    SetBitDirection(18,0);
    SetBitDirection(19,0);
    SetBitDirection(20,0);
    SetBitDirection(21,0);
    SetBitDirection(22,0);
    SetBitDirection(23,0);
    SetBitDirection(24,0);
    SetBitDirection(25,0)

    After initialization I begin to to click on the line limit buttons and look into Digital I/O window in Kmotion. Nothing happes. Why state of bins is not changes when I was push buttons?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC06365.jpg   DSC06366.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Hi Alex,

    Do you have a schematic?

    Check the voltage on the KFLOP input pins with a voltmeter before and after pushing the limit switch.

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Hi! Here is the scheme of connection. I need to unplug 16-pin cable from kflop and measure voltage? In what 2 pins in 16-pins cable? I looking for a "flags" in kmoution I/O window to find an accordance between screw pins of external board and kflop pins.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled-1 copy.jpg  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Hi Alex,

    That's not a schematic.

    I need to unplug 16-pin cable from kflop and measure voltage?
    No. It must remain connected.

    In what 2 pins in 16-pins cable?
    The KFLOP Input pins relative to KFLOP GND

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Didn't inderstood your advice :-(

    Ok, If i'll inplug 16-pin cable I 'll can check what wires of board accordance to JP4 pins. Didn't want to disconnect cables to avoid another burn, but Ok. So If i check with voltmeter that when i connect +24V to (for example) brown wire i get voltage (for example) on IO17 JP4 pin. What I need to do next?
    Put SetBitDirection(17,0); into initialization c-file? after that i'll can describe the click event of the limit sensor?
    But I'm already put SetBitDirection(16,0);
    SetBitDirection(17,0);
    SetBitDirection(18,0);
    SetBitDirection(19,0);
    SetBitDirection(20,0);
    SetBitDirection(21,0);
    SetBitDirection(22,0);
    SetBitDirection(23,0);
    SetBitDirection(24,0);
    SetBitDirection(25,0);
    into c-file, try to connect +24 to brown cable and have nothing in I/O window in kmotion. Why?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Hi Alex,

    You don't need to do the SetBitDirections because KFLOP I/O defaults to inputs.

    If the I/O pin measures over 2V then the Digital I/O Screen Checkbox should show checked.

    Please carefully check the voltage on the I/O pin.

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Yes, it may be bad optrons on board. But how can i test in? I need to exclude the possibility of my wrong connection to kflop. I was checked: 3V cames to the opto-board from kflop. 24V cames to optoboard from limits. No life in 16-pin cable :-(
    By defaulc all pins of jp4 is input pins, yes? How it can be: i was change c-file (see att.) and press "Save". Some pins became outputs. Why i can't see changes in I/O window? maybe I still did something wrong?
    Or I need press "Run, Compile, Download, Run" before kflop underctand changes?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?

    Hi Alex,

    Do not configure KFLOP I/O as outputs when they are connected to outputs. This can damage KFLOP or your opto board. Never connect two outputs together as they will fight each other to control the pin. Only connect an input to an output.

    Yes you need to press the "Save, Compile, Download, Run" button to run the program. Only saving the file to the PC hard disk will not have any effect on KFLOP. This Flash video may help you understand:
    http://dynomotion.com/Help/FlashHelp...ers/index.html

    Where did you measure 3V? You need to measure the KFLOP Input pins not the 3.3V supply.

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Re: How to connect external board to kflop?


Similar Threads

  1. Kflop external fro adjustment
    By jakkefire in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2015, 10:41 AM
  2. How can i connect a HY VFD with MK 2/4 PROBOTIX board?
    By shanu4454 in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2014, 04:19 AM
  3. How to Connect Relays to the KFlop Controller???
    By jeffserv in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2014, 12:13 AM
  4. KFlop + External Servo Drives
    By arvidj in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-13-2012, 11:16 PM
  5. How to connect ELM Board and OSMC Board ?
    By bigeye3107 in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2008, 12:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •