586,103 active members*
3,065 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Seeking advice on which machine to buy

Greetings to All! I am a bit of newbie to this, although I've long held an interest. But now my business partner and I have decided to jump into the laser cutting and engraving business and are shopping around for a machine. I'm the one doing the research and will make the final recommendation to my partner. I've been looking at the cheap chinese made laser cutter/engravers, but they are not without issues, and since we are just starting up, we will need some hand holding and good support, we won't have the experience to do our own troubleshooting. Initially we are looking for a lightweight but powerful unit which we can move around and take to fairs, shows, and events on the weekends and do while-you-wait custom engraving. During the week we will produce stuff we will be selling from our web sites. We are looking at engraving all sorts of materials, including anodized aluminum, acrylic, and wood, and cutting acrylic (mostly 1/8") and some wood. Based on our requirements, we have narrowed our choices down to Epilog, Universal Laser, and Full Spectrum brands, and probably a model about 50 watts. I would love to hear recommendations, suggestions, advice, & warnings about what machine we should choose, and other aspects of this burgeoning business.

Thanks to all!

Re: Seeking advice on which machine to buy

//we are looking for a lightweight but powerful unit which we can move around and take to fairs//