586,119 active members*
3,500 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > What does the H word do?
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    741

    What does the H word do?

    HI,

    The manual says "In Format 2 the H word will only pick up the tool length offset. It is also used for Tool timers selection" and the gcode looks like this:

    T1 M6
    G90 S7500 M3
    G54 X-2.305 Y-1.095
    H1 Z1.06 D1
    M8

    T5 M6
    G90 S3124 M3
    G54 X4.27 Y.5599
    H5 Z1.06 D5
    M8

    Aren't the tool offsets set with the UT command? Why do I need an H word then? What do the "Z1.06" and "D(tool number)" do?

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    287

    Re: What does the H word do?

    H1 pulls the length offset data from the tool table for T1
    D1 pulls the diameter offset data from the tool table for T1 If you have your cam software calculate for tool diameter then D1 is not needed unless you use it for tool wear.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    741

    Re: What does the H word do?

    Cool thanks. That is a weird way of doing it, that it does not pick up the offsets automatically, but at least I know what is going on.

    I suppose the "Z1.06" is just a rapid that happens to be in the same line.

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    287

    Re: What does the H word do?

    That's pretty standard for all controls, and is a Gcode standard. It is kind of handy on a Fadal were you could actually use the H word for the tool used and The T word for the slot that it is located in the changer. You will notice that the tool table can hold at least 99 entries, but the changer has only 20 slots.
    So you could call T1 H65. were it would be the tool in the #1 slot and the offset for what is #65 in the tool table.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    741

    Re: What does the H word do?

    Ha! That is helpful Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    25

    Re: What does the H word do?

    So I am having issues with tool offsets.... what am I doing wrong?

    First, I went through the mass tool setup to define the lengths and diameters using a 123block set on the table. T1 = Haimer 3D, T2=5/16 EM, T3=1/8 drill.

    I am picking up my work piece XYZ using the Haimer and storing it to the G54 work offset.

    when I input:

    T2 M6
    S1200 M3
    G1 F20.
    G54 X0Y0 H2 D2

    It wants to plow into the wooden block that I am practicing on, and not even close to the X0Y0.

    Thanks guys.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    70

    Re: What does the H word do?

    Quote Originally Posted by megacanam View Post
    So I am having issues with tool offsets.... what am I doing wrong?

    First, I went through the mass tool setup to define the lengths and diameters using a 123block set on the table. T1 = Haimer 3D, T2=5/16 EM, T3=1/8 drill.

    I am picking up my work piece XYZ using the Haimer and storing it to the G54 work offset.

    when I input:

    T2 M6
    S1200 M3
    G1 F20.
    G54 X0Y0 H2 D2

    It wants to plow into the wooden block that I am practicing on, and not even close to the X0Y0.

    Thanks guys.
    After you set your tools to that 123 block . did you set z0 at the top of your wood block? might want the H2D2on the next line

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    417

    Re: What does the H word do?

    In your Fixture offset page you probably stored a Z value in the G54. And you probably only wanted an X and Y. And I am assuming that when you set your tool lengths using the UT command your Zaxis was probably at the C.S.(tool change) position

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    25

    Re: What does the H word do?

    Yes that's right... But if I delete the z value from the work offset, how will the machine know where to go?

    I've got a lot more reading to do... Thought I had it figured out, but now I'm just confused.

    Thanks guys

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    417

    Re: What does the H word do?

    For example if you have a length offset for tool 1 of -15.000 and you store a z value in the fixture offset 1 of -15.000. and in your program you go to G54 that applies the -15. for the fixt and then the H1 applies another -15.00 from that point for the tool . Total z move will be -30. Crash. You really dont need a Z in the Fixture offset when you are using just one Fixture. The Z value is really used to make up the differences between Multiple Fixtures say you have 2 vices, and you set your tools to the first part in vice 1. when you go to vice 2 there may be a small difference in the Z say .02. so in fixture 2 there would be a value of .02 to make up the difference in the part location.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by rodney247 View Post
    For example if you have a length offset for tool 1 of -15.000 and you store a z value in the fixture offset 1 of -15.000. and in your program you go to G54 that applies the -15. for the fixt and then the H1 applies another -15.00 from that point for the tool . Total z move will be -30. Crash. You really dont need a Z in the Fixture offset when you are using just one Fixture. The Z value is really used to make up the differences between Multiple Fixtures say you have 2 vices, and you set your tools to the first part in vice 1. when you go to vice 2 there may be a small difference in the Z say .02. so in fixture 2 there would be a value of .02 to make up the difference in the part location.
    Thanks for the clarification Rodney, I really appreciate Your help.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    417

    Re: What does the H word do?

    no problem. If you need pretty much any Fadal manual you can download them here Fadal Manuals | ItsCnc.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    28

    Re: What does the H word do?

    I always do it like this.

    M06 T1
    M03 S1000
    G0 G90 G54 X0.00 Y0.0
    G43 H1 D1 Z.100

    The G43 calls the height offset and H1 call the tool offset and the D calls the diameter offset. You don't have to put the D in. I only use the D when I am using cutter comp.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    25

    Re: What does the H word do?

    Thanks kevin....

    Rodney, I took the z out of the work offsets and it functioned exactly as needed. thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. 04 How to input word
    By thunderlaser in forum Laser Control Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2013, 09:14 AM
  2. The A word in G76
    By Cerritos in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-25-2012, 07:58 PM
  3. Word!
    By Fabio1 in forum Canadian Club House
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 08:30 PM
  4. How do we get the word out??
    By AMCjeepCJ in forum Milltronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2005, 03:04 PM
  5. A word about CNC Pro
    By boxwood in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-2005, 04:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •