586,058 active members*
3,492 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Bridgeport CNC Retrofit Guru, Help!

Hi, I am a hobby machinist and have a Bridgeport Series I milling machine. I was thinking of retrofitting my machine with an Ajax but their kits looks like are only for Bridgeport Boss. FlashCut and CNCmaster have a kit for around $5,000 (Stepper Motors). FlashCut have another kit with Servos for around $8,000. It cost more money but I am leaning more towards servos than steppers.
    Any of you guys familiar with these kits?

Do you guys know of any other kit I can look at?

If I decide to get steppers, besides the price. What is the biggest difference between steppers and servos?
    Are Steppers operation smooth and accurate enough?

Thanks in advance for your help!

S76tools

Just to clarify - the Ajax kit is also for other models than the BOSS. For stepper retrofits, they replace the motors with new servos. For servo retrofits, if your motors are compatable you can get a kit without motors.
    http://www.scpconcepts.com

steppers or servos

Hello there just think for a moment is your machine a series 1 turret mill or CNC mill with ballscrews already built in if so it may be cheaper to get an old failed Boss machine and retrofit it than the standard turret mill as for servos against steppers the steppers have no positional feed back servo's do with the rotary encoder and when you talk about an Ajax system they are good and will fit to a variety of older cnc mills with very little work and the software comes complete ready to run and you can have a machined part coming off within minutes of completing the instalation but with the other systems you've got to choose your preferable software and learn it this is a longer learning curve. Best of luck choosing Colin

my vote is for build your own setup, I have been playing with boss machines for more than 12 years and well have to say there a hell of a chunk of metal.