586,119 active members*
3,607 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Unhappy Help with High Speed Spindle cutting corten steel

Hi guys,
    Well I can confirm that just having a go comes with a huge price tag.
    I am about 5 cutters down and lost as to what to do next.. And yes I am new at this, but loving it.

I am trying to cut some letters out of 3mm corten steel.

I have a high speed spindle that stops when i set it below 5000 RPM ( First 2 bits..) Stopped spinning while gantry was moving SNAP!!

I am using a 6 mill plunge end mill 2 flute Cutting the full 3mm thickness in one pass.

I tried 12,000 rpm at 1mm - 5mm per second. Worked great for about 2 minutes, then bit glowed bright red, some sparks and it broke off welding itself to the steel. ( 2 More Bits Down. )

So any thoughts please anyone, other than yes I dont know what I am doing.

I have read that maybe I should be running faster up around 18,000 RPM with a feed rate of 20 -30 mm per second..

Re: Help with High Speed Spindle cutting corten steel

What machine (photos please).

Full thickness may be rather ambitious. Routers are not really the correct tool.

You need to go and look up some surface speed numbers. 12,000 rpm at 60mm per min will definitely burn cutters.
    7xCNC.com - CNC info for the minilathe (7x10, 7x12, 7x14, 7x16)

Ah, the smell of glowing cutters on alloy steel ...

Sounds to me as though you are way, way off in feed and speed! So, first check
    Cutting Speed and Feed Rate Calculations
    for some idea of what Surface Speed you should be cutting at, and what sort of chip loading. You will have to do the calculations. They may not suit your spindle at all.